• They are a northeastern European country bordered by the North Sea, Belgium and Germany. 
  • The capital city is Amsterdam, but their government and monarchy are located in The Hague.
  •   Their name means ‘low-lands’. A quarter of their territory is located at or below sea level. For this reason, is one of the countries most affected by climate change. Flooding from the sea is a problem, and overflowing rivers could also be very dangerous.
  • Another of their cities, Rotterdam, is home to Europe’s busiest port. 
  • The population uses bicycles as a preferred way of transport.
  • The Erasmus programme is named after Erasmus of Rotterdam, considered one of the greatest scholars of the Nordic Renaissance.
  • The Netherlands have never won the Davis Cup.

Leave a Reply